Events and Registration

The Connect Your Community Calendar is a resource to let others know about community events happening in your neighborhood. Neighborhood associations registered with the city’s Community Development Department can submit events for the calendar. Local non-profit organizations may also submit information about community-focused events.

All events listed on the calendar are, and must be, free and open to the public.

To list an event:
Email event information to . Include:

  • Event name, date and time
  • Location
  • Contact name and email
  • Sponsoring neighborhood association or organization

Upcoming Events

Dates subject to change. If in doubt contact sponsoring organization.

MARCH 2019

  • Tuesday, March 26: Community Coalition Interest Meeting, 5:30-7 p.m. Sedge Garden Community Center, 401 Robbins Road

APRIL 2019

  • Friday, April 12: Front Door Friday. Neighborhood TBA
  • Thursday, April 25: Community Celebration Event. 5 - 6 p.m., Martin Luther King Community Center, 2001 Pittsburg Ave. Hosted by the Boston-Thurmond Neighborhood Association.
  • Tuesday, April 30: Neighborhood Academy, 6 - 7:30 p.m., Sedge Garden Recreation Center, 401 Robbins Road. Topic: "Along to Move Along." (Working through conflict.)

MAY 2019

  • Thursday, May 2: FaithAction ID Event, 6 p.m., Trinity Moravian Church, 220 E Sprague Street
  • Friday, May 3: FaithAction ID Event, 10 a.m., Trinity Moravian Church, 220 E Sprague Street
  • Saturday, May 4: Stroke Awareness Health Fair, 10 a.m.- 1 p.m., Zion Memorial Missionary Baptist Church, 101 N. Dunleith Ave.
  • Friday, May 10: Front Door Friday. Graham St., Wheeler Ave., Jackson Ave., Dunleith Ave.
  • Saturday, May 11: John & Deloris Huntley Children's Health Fair, 11 a.m.-2 p.m., 1215 N. Cameron Avenue
  • Saturday, May 18: Happy Hills Summer Arts Program Registration Drive, 10 a.m. - 3:30 p.m., Willows Peake Office (outside)

JUNE 2019

  • Saturday, June 1: Never Walk Alone Addiction Memorial Event, 10 a.m.- Noon, Corpening Plaza
  • Thursday, June 6: Hiring and Career Expo, 12:30 p.m. - 4 p.m., W.R. Anderson Recreation Center
  • Thursday, June 13: Inmar Community Tech Night, 6 p.m. - 8:00 p.m., 14th Street Community Center and South Fork Community Center
  • Friday, June 14:  Front Door Friday. Neighborhood TBA
  • Tuesday, June 25: Neighborhood Academy, 6 - 7:30 p.m., Sedge Garden Recreation Center, 401 Robbins Road. Topic: "Ready, Set, Goal!" (Setting community goals.)

JULY 2019 

  • Saturday, July 6: Community and Health Fair Day, 10 a.m. - 2 p.m., Morning Star Missionary Baptist Church, 1400 Fitch Street.
  • Monday, July 8 - Aug. 14 (Mon, Tues, Wed): Happy Hills Arts Afterschool and Summer Creative Academics Summer Classes - For Grades 1-5. 10 a.m. - 2 p.m., Willows Peake Community Room
  • Friday, July 12: Front Door Friday. Neighborhood TBA
  • Saturday, July 13: Shalimar Estates Neighborhood Association Day, 4 p.m. - 7 p.m., Emmanuel Baptist Church, 1075 Shalimar Drive

AUGUST 2019

  • Friday, Aug. 9: Front Door Friday. Neighborhood TBA
  • Saturday, Aug. 10: Community Day Health & Wellness Fair, 11 a.m. - 2 p.m., 2101 Peters Creek Parkway
  • Tuesday, Aug. 27: Neighborhood Academy, 6 - 7:30 p.m., Sedge Garden Recreation Center, 401 Robbins Road. Topic: "The Cameras are Rolling." (Dealing with the media.)

SEPTEMBER 2019

  • Thursday, Sept. 12: Inmar Community Tech Night, 6 p.m. - 8:00 p.m., 14th Street Community Center and South Fork Community Center
  • Friday, Sept. 13: Front Door Friday. Neighborhood TBA
  • Friday, Sept. 28: Good Neighbor Day – Celebration kick off, Corpening Plaza, 6-8 p.m.
  • Saturday, Sept. 29: National Good Day

OCTOBER 2019

  • Friday, Oct. 11: Front Door Friday. Neighborhood TBA
  • Tuesday, Oct. 29: Neighborhood Academy, 6 - 7:30 p.m., Sedge Garden Recreation Center, 401 Robbins Road. Topic: "Show Me the Money." (Fundamentals of fundraising.)

Notify me about changes on this page

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.