Local Historic Landmark program cover
Information Sheets for each
Local Historic Landmark

One of the responsibilities of the HRC is the administration and management of the Local Historic Landmark (LHL) program. Individual properties can be locally designated through the appropriate governing board's adoption of an ordinance designating a specific property as a landmark.View the  list of Local Historic Landmark properties [pdf/344kb/5p] that have been designated throughout Forsyth County see interactive map). In order to be considered for LHL status, properties must be nominated by the property owner through a detailed  application process. There is a $50.00 application fee. Contact staff for a presubmittal consultation.

Once a property has been designated as a LHL, the property owner may apply to the Forsyth County Tax Office for a 50% property tax deferral. The deferral runs in perpetuity, unless the property loses its LHL status due to loss of its architectural integrity.

Additionally, once a property is designated as a LHL, the property owner must apply for a COA [pdf/614kb/2p] for alterations to any portion of the designated property (including interiors, if designated). This is accomplished through the same COA process described in the Local Historic Districts section above. Design review guidelines have been adopted for LHL's as well as the local districts.

Local Historic Landmark Design Review Guidelines [pdf/719.9/94p] - posted 6/23/2014

Winston-Salem's Local Historic Landmark Program Financial Impact Study [pdf/632kb/ 21p] - posted 3/15/2013

Contact Information

Revised 1/10/2019

Notify me of page changes

Receive E-Mail Notification When New Information is Posted on this Page
As a member, enjoy the benefits of MyCityofWS, including your choice of newsletters, and notifications about events and site updates. Login and Manage Your Subscriptions Now.

Citizen Notification System

City Link 311